Smart and Outgoing (Part 1)

Can we (or our children) be both smart and outgoing? What’s so great about it, and why is everybody making it such a big deal? Does it have anything to do with how our future will be, our success?

Did you ever hear of the term “multiple intelligences” from Howard Gardner and realize that being smart means a lot more than just having good grades at school?

I just did.

All my life I’ve considered myself as a smart person. During my elementary years I always got good grades and were proudly positioned as no. 1 in my class, twice. I was accepted to a good school, and even though I failed my UMPTN test, my parents sent me to a highly reputable university, which costs them twice the expense of my other sisters’ college fees. And even today, I got a better salary compared to my other sisters.

When I was 13, I learned to play the guitar. I tried to follow several songs, and my favorite was Guns ‘n’ Roses’ “Patience” on which it taught me how to whistle too. I joined several bands afterwards. For years and years I played with so many bands, until 2004 where I leave all of them to finish my college assignment. Then I graduated, got a job, got married, have a child, and seems like there’s no room for my musical abilities.

But musical ability is not my only ability. Art, is something I find interesting, too. I was capable to make various pieces with CorelDraw and Adobe Photoshop. I designed some of my frends’ CD covers, made several posters, and until today I still use that ability to create a my blog’s header.

During my college years, in between practicing songs with my bands and playing on several gigs, I also work part-time as a translator. I “helped” college students with their assignments, and were paid-per-page in return. I began to have a certain feeling for English literature, began to love writing and the like.

So there it was, my story, on which, if related to the theory of multiple intelligence, in addition to my academic achievements, I was also blessed with musical and linguistic intelligence. I am pretty lucky to have parents who supported my curiosity, and allowed me to follow my interest without any prohibitions.

But not everyone realize this, right? Most people still relate “being smart” as “having good school grades” and never consider other non-academic areas such as sports, arts, linguistic, etc, as part of a person’s intelligence. Not only that, there are also parents who were blessed with a “not-so-outgoing” kids, like me. And instead of empowering their child’s talent, they are trying too hard to create an (academically) smart and outgoing child. I try not to make that mistake.

I will discuss this on Part 2 .

🙂

* * *

Leave a comment

Filed under ALL POSTS

Leave a Reply

