Don’t Go To College, If …

Found a very interesting article this morning from @rudicahyo, about the importance of high education. If Bob Sadino thinks it’s unnecessary to study as high as college, James Altucher even instructed parents NOT to send their kids to college.

Whether college is important or not, the fact is, not all brilliant, rich, and creative people today are college-graduates.

He didn't finish Harvard, one lucky bastard! (Google Images)

So dear fellow parents, or parent-to-be(s), or even those of you who are still in school, or college, do you agree? Before answering that difficult question, why don’t you try to answer this first?

do you know what are you going to do with you life?

If you have a solid determination on what you want to be, a scientist, a doctor, a lawyer, or whatever occupation you have in mind, obviously you MUST go to college to earn more knowledge about the subject of your choice. This is where Mario Teguh, Marissa Haque, or whoever believed that “college will make your life better” is correct. And you can stop reading this blog. šŸ˜€

But if you were like me, who went to college because you thought “what else should I do? Everyone else is going, so I think I better go too,” .. you better take some time to think again, stop wasting your parents’ money.

I use to be determined. I had a clear image on what I want to do with my life. I want to be an architect, I want to design houses, buildings, etc. But after it became impossible, I just went along with whatever was there in front of me.

Then everything started to fell apart. I was going nowhere. Without a solid determination on what I want to do with my life, and how I want my future to be, I have no directions. College becomes boring, because I have no idea what to do with all these subjects that I’m learning. I didn’t feel any satisfaction, and attending classes felt like a heavy burden for me.

If you feel the same way, perhaps you should quit for a semester, and rethink your decision through. Perhaps you’re like Mark Zuckerberg, or James Altucher, or everyone else who thought that college is a waste of time and money, and would have succeed in other areas.

If you’re a high school graduate, and can’t decide whether to apply to college or not, here’s my advice to you:

1) Ask yourself what am I going to do with my life? What do I want, what are things that makes me happy, WHAT sort of activities is going to give me satisfaction? What are the things I’m actually good at?

2) Ask yourself again, “Will college going to help me achieve that goal?” If so, what major? What university provides the subject?

You need to set the goal first, then the “how-to-get-there” later. It’s not the other way around. Apparently, most of us were trapped in enjoying high school too much that we forgot to set our goals immediately, and waited for them to appear after we applied to universities.

Now do you still think that it’s necessary to go to college? Do you know what is it you want to do with your life?

What is it?

Will, or is, going to college going to help you achieve that purpose?

Good luck.

Leave a comment

Filed under ALL POSTS, MY INDONESIA

Leave a Reply

