How College Ruined My Life, and Then Saved It

I use to dream to become an architect. But when I was in high school, I got a terrible grade on chemistry (the perfect score was 100, and mine was 40). I couldn’t continue to IPA (natural science) class, and hence couldn’t apply on any university to study architecture.

I don’t know whether this system is still used until today or not, all I know, the Minister of Education, sucks!

After 3rd grade, I tried the UMPTN test but failed. So my parents sent me to one of the most expensive college in Surabaya, where I choose the Economics major. Because it felt like the right thing to do. Sort of.

Turns out, studying economics makes me extremely bored. I lost my motivation to study and got pretty distracted. Instead, I learned to held music gigs with my friends, joined and played with a few indie bands, and worked part-time in a computer store. Suddenly, I have spent 7 (yes, SEVEN !!!) years in college, and still didn’t know how it will END.

That’s it. Do it or leave it. I got one year to complete my final assignment, or the university will kick my butt.

So I decided to finish it. I left my bands, put myself together, do my final assignments, and eventually, graduated. Since I never went to the graduation ceremony, I always wonder how my face would look like wearing the toga.

Wonder how this hat feels..

While some graduates were facing difficult times looking for a job, I was pretty lucky to have a friend who told me that her office needed a Secretary. I sent my application, did the interview, and were successfully hired. I was working full time, felt proud with myself, even though..

NOTHING I LEARNED IN COLLEGE WAS USEFUL FOR MY WORK !!

The only thing that was useful was my graduation certificate. My friend told me that one of the reasons I got accepted by her boss was because I graduated from a reputable university.

The decision to attend college may have destroyed 8 (eight) valuable years of my life, but on the other hand, it has also gave me a job, with monthly salary and health insurance, a job which helped me to raise a son, pay the mortgage, and eventually moving on.

* * *

(End of the first part of “should you or should you not go to college” series)

2 Comments

Filed under ALL POSTS, RANDOM

2 responses to “How College Ruined My Life, and Then Saved It

  1. Pingback: Don’t Go To College, If … « BunuhBosan

  2. Pingback: Smart and Outgoing (Part 1) « BunuhBosan

Leave a Reply

